Welcome to the HQ Racing Australia Website

  • 2016 Fuso Truck Interstate Challenge - Mt Panorama Bathurst NSW

    The Fuso Interstate Challenge got away to a great start on the 25th - 27th March with a huge roll up of entries from all over Australia.


    The time and effort put in by event organiser Dale Youd, the FUSO TRUCKS Interstate Challenge was set locked and loaded for a cracker weekend.


    Cars rolled off the trailers and rolled out of the trucks looking their very best as it was the first round for 2016.


    One of the weekends highlights was the team from WA and there excitement on arrival to the famous track.T hey were here, they were excited and they couldn’t wait to roll onto the most famous strip of bitumen in the land.


    The South Australians had arrived, the Queenslanders, the Victorians and the NSW teams rolled into town all looking shiny and bright - all ready to race the Mount.


    Friday morning and the wait was over. All the teams were lined up ready for the first practice session and the excitement wasn't just on the faces of the new comers - everyone had a smile. It was that time again to drive on that very famous road called Mount Panorama.


    Chaz Mostert, 2014 Bathurst Winner gave up some time and had a chat to the HQ boys about being safe and looking out for your fellow competitor and for all the new guys advising them enjoy the mountain however to also remember to be safe.


    The weekend was away. Event Director Dale Youd was finally, after weeks of hard work, able to relax as the cars rolled out of the dummy grid for race one on Saturday morning.


    The racing was on - from 1st place back to 55th place , the national champion- The Flying Dutchman - Rod Raatjes stamping his authority over the field.


    See www.bathurstmotorfestival.com.au for race result sheets for each of the (3) HQ Holden Fuso Trucks Interstate Challenge Races from Round 1 Mount Panorama.


    It was great to have Chaz Mostert, John Bowe and David Wall help at the Presentation. Congratulations to Rod Raatjes - the winner of the first round of the 2016 HQ Fuso Trucks Interstate Challenge and Brett Osborn who finished second for the weekend.


    On behalf of the entire entrants list, a special thank you to Rex Monahan who is one of the quiet behind the scenes guys at these events that puts in a great effort to work with Dale to make the 3 days of racing a pleasure and to Rexs children, Katherine and Michael, for all their hard work over the weekend of Bathurst. Thank you also to Bobby McGee for the Commentary and Bobby McGee for the organising of the entrants packs from Castrol - many thanks. All these extras go a long way and from all competitors many thanks to Castrol for the products for each and every entrant.


    To Fuso Trucks Australia, a very big thank you from all of the entrants and to have FUSO onboard for the Interstate Series and as the HQ 2016 nationals sponsor for the year 2016 is shaping up well and we look forward to Round 2 of the Interstate Series at the Winton Festival of speed in August, Round 3 at Morgan park in Queensland and the final round of the Interstate Series being the Nationals at Wakefield Park in Goulbourn, NSW.


    Click Here to view the Bathurst Images...



  • Congratulations to the 2015 National Champion

    Congratulations to the
    2015 National Champion:


    Rod Raatjes

  • Nationals 2016 Event Hosts HQ NSW - 3rd-6th of November 2016:

    HQ Racing Association of NSW cordially invites all members to Wakefield Park in 2016 for the running of the HQRA Nationals.


    Thursday: 3rd November 2016 - Setup from Noon and evening cocktail party.

    Friday: 4th November 2016 - Open practice and Administration

    Saturday: 5th November 2016 - Heats and Presentation Dinner

    Sunday: 6th November 2016 - Top 10 Shoot-Out: Repechage Race; Final Race & Presentation






  • 2015 Nationals Top 10

    1.   Rod Raatjes

    2.   Warren Trewin

    3.   Gary Bonwick

    4.   Phil Ashlin

    5.   Shane Ashlin

    6.   David Parsons

    7.   John Wise

    8.   Mick Woodbridge

    9.   Jason Bell

    10. Jamie Furness

  • Nationals Outcome

    Following an investigation by the CAMS Eligibility Officers in Melbourne and a follow up meeting with the Tasmanian CAMS Stewards, Andrew Toth was found guilty and disqualified from the 2015 HQ Nationals. A further meeting of the discplinary tribunal is yet to be held to determine Toth’s penalty.

  • Crossroads Civil Contracting HQ Nationals - Run and Won!

    The Mainland  Mexican Bandit  Rod Raatjes  took  line honours at this year’s Crossroads Civil Contracting HQ Nationals held at Symmons Plains Raceway, however controversy has followed  number 2-3-4 after scrutineering infringements were apparent and although under further  protest the post race results are pending.


    Second spot on the podium was Tassies Andrew Toth however car 28  is  under CAMS protest,  should this protest be upheld  Andrew Toth will remain, however if Andrew Toth is found to have had a technical breach then Victoria's hard charging Warren Trewin may be elevated  to 2nd spot and with Tassies Duane Preece then elevated to 3rd,  however in a mysterious twist to circumstances Preece was found to have a scrutineering discrepancy, and signed off from the event allowing pending 3rd place on the podium multiple champion Queensland’s  champion  Gary Bonwick to be the man in waiting pending CAMS outcomes.


    Trophies have not been handed out at this point until the final outcomes of the CAMS  protest are  resolved.


    Over and above the post race scrutineering, we can’t take away the fierce racing between all  competitors, this after all was the Nationals. Tassies own Ashlin boys were keen to show the interstaters  the way. Best placed sand groper was Western Australia’s Mick Woodbridge and Queensland champion Jamie Furness was home in 12th just showing  all entrants the top 10 slots weren’t easy  pickings.


    Ex Bathurst winner David Parsons had nothing to match the pointy end nor  John Wise. Jason Bell was next best from the apple isle, in the Bell services centre no 27 car, Victorias hard charging Andrew McLeod, Ken Wright  came to engine dramas. Mcleod was one of the fastest cars all Nationals and his arrival into pit lane with 1.5  laps to go was to the amazement of all present. A mix of Western Australians and Tasmanians  filled the slots between 12th and 28th. A credit to the West Australians for making the effort to the Apple Isle, this effort should not go unnoticed, and the Tasmania’s a great job by all competitors and committee in making the 2015  Crossroads Civil Contracting Nationals such  a great event.



    Click Here For Results

  • National Body Elect a New National Patron:

    At the recent HQRA National Meeting, it was unanimously decided that Gavin Porteous would be honoured as the HQRA National Patron. We welcome Gavin Porteous (ASM) who is the most worthy Patron. Gavin has had a distinguished career in both sidecar racing and HQs, winning National and State Championships in both. After a career ending  accident on the Isle of Man in 1993, Gavin joined HQ Racing  in 1999. He is a fierce competitor and a valuable committee man who we are fortunate to have in our Association and as our patron.


    I look forward to meeting you all at various events in 2015.



    Gavin Porteous

2016 Sponsors: